Pierre Louis Institute of Epidemiology and Public Health

UMR-S 1136

Director: Fabrice Carrat
Deputy Director: Dominique Costagliola

Secretary General: Marianne Bailly

The Pierre Louis Institute of Epidemiology and Public Health was created in January 2014 as a unique laboratory gathering all the research forces in Epidemiology and Public Health within Sorbonne Université in order to increase our visibility and attractiveness, to facilitate collaborative works between the teams, and to provide more efficient allocation of administrative or operational staff.

The Institute has been successfully evaluated and renewed in January 2019, and is constituted of 7 INSERM/Sorbonne Université teams and a transversal administrative and computer and information technology teams.

Our common overarching objective is to produce original knowledge on several of the most pressing public health issues and on the effectiveness of related interventions. Our most prominent specificities are to use innovative design and analytical methods to ensure the highest level of evidence for our findings and, where appropriate, our capacity to set up, integrate and exploit massive data from various sources. The Institute is covering the main domains of epidemiology, whether clinical, populational or social, as well as pharmacoepidemiology, biostatistics, statistical and mathematical modelling, clinical research including methodology and clinical trials, relations between environment and health status, social determinants of health, and health care organization. In terms of applications we are dealing mainly with communicable diseases (influenza, HIV infection, viral hepatitis …), nosocomial and emerging infections, with chronic diseases (inflammatory chronic diseases, respiratory, allergic and cardiovascular diseases), with psychiatric disorders and with critical care.

The teams are listed below:

The Institute also includes a team for administrative support (M. Bailly) and information system (G. Dussaillant,S. Hysenj).

Institut Pierre Louis d'Epidémiologie et de Santé Publique

UMR-S 1136

Responsable: Fabrice Carrat

L'Institut d'épidémiologie et de santé publique Pierre Louis a été créé en janvier 2014 en tant que laboratoire unique rassemblant toutes les forces de recherche en épidémiologie et en santé publique de Sorbonne Université, afin d'accroître notre visibilité et notre attractivité, de faciliter les travaux collaboratifs entre les différentes équipes, et d’assurer une affectation plus efficace du personnel administratif ou opérationnel.

Renouvelé en janvier 2019, l’Institut a été évalué avec succès et est constitué de 7 équipes INSERM / Sorbonne Université et de deux équipes transversales pour l’administration et le système d’information.

Notre objectif commun est de produire des connaissances originales sur plusieurs des problèmes de santé publique prioritaires et sur l’efficacité des interventions en santé. Nos principales spécificités consistent à utiliser des méthodes de conception et d’analyse innovantes afin d’assurer le plus haut niveau de preuve possible pour nos résultats et, le cas échéant, notre capacité à établir, intégrer et exploiter une énorme quantité de données provenant de sources diverses. L’Institut couvre les principaux domaines de l’épidémiologie, clinique, populationnelle ou sociale, ainsi que de la pharmacoépidémiologie, de la biostatistique, de la modélisation statistique et mathématique, de la recherche clinique, y compris de la méthodologie et des essais cliniques, des relations entre l’environnement et la santé, des déterminants sociaux de la santé et des organisations de soins en santé. En termes d'applications, nous traitons principalement de maladies transmissibles (grippe, infection par le VIH, hépatite virale,…), d'infections nosocomiales et émergentes, de maladies chroniques (maladies chroniques inflammatoires, maladies respiratoires, allergiques et cardiovasculaires, maladies psychiatriques), de prise en charge en réanimation.

Les équipes qui le composent sont: